Sixers thrash Lions in one-sided final

by iplgeek 0 Comments

After dominating every team that came to face them, the Sydney Sixers played completely out shined the Highveld Lions in the finals to hold that CLT20 cup for 2012. On winning the toss, Brad Haddin opted to bowl first. Alviro Petersen said he had no problem batting first. Obviously he didn’t see what was coming. With Gulam Bodi departing to Nathan McCullum in the 4th ball of the innings, the Sydney bowlers began to pile on the pressure. By the end of the 4th over, the Lions were 9-4, with Petersen, Bodi, Quinton de Knock, and Neil McKenzie back in the dug-out. Strangely, Sohail Tanvir walked out at number 5 as a pinch hitter. This, too failed as Tanvir departed for 11 in 12, leaving the Lions at 32-5 at the end of 7 overs. Then Jean Symes put on a brave face and scored a strong 46-ball 51. He was assisted by Thami Tsolekile (20 in 19) and Dwaine Pretorius (21 in 18). After these 3 men fell, the tail was quickly cleaned up and the Lions were bowled out for 121. With a total like that to defend, not many people would have fancied the Lions’ chances of winning. However, the Sixers made it look incredibly easy. Miceal Lumb belted a fierce 42-ball 82, while captain Haddin kept calm and scored 37 in 33. The Lions bowlers, with the exception of Sohail Tanvir and Dirk Nannes, were all taken to the hammer. Chris Morris, who had bowled so beautifully against the Daredevils, was struck for 25 in his 2. Aaron Phangiso was also taken to the hammer, going for 29 in his 2. Then Lumb struck Pretorius for 16 in his first 3 balls to clinch the game by 10 wickets, and to take the cup home. The Lions had stunned many teams, including the Chennai Super Kings, defending champions Mumbai Indians, and the in-form Delhi Daredevils. Still, they failed when it mattered most. Another sad end 🙁 Well, that’s all for today, see ya!

cricket @ iplgeek

Sydney Sixers- Champions CLT20 2012