MI thwart RCB in finals

by iplgeek 0 Comments

Once again the Royal Challengers have failed to win a single tournament due to a shabby batting show that failed to chase 139. Winning the toss at Chennai, MI skipper Harbhajan Singh asked for a bat first. RCB skipper Dan Vettori said he would have liked to bat first as well. MI got off a quick start, Sarul Kanwar smashing Tillakaratne Dilshan for a big six, sending his first for 9 runs. Later on, however, there was a horrible mix up between Kanwar and Aiden Blizzard. Blizzard hit the ball and began running down the pitch. He did not see Kanwar’s signal to go back until he was almost in the other crease. Later Kanwar fell on 13, as Dirk Nannes took out his middle stump. This was Nannes’ 2nd wicket in the tournament. Later Raju Bhatkal removed Ambati Rayudu who was just settling at the crease. James Franklin (41) and Suryakumar Yadav (24) began to chock in the runs before both men were run out by Dirk Nannes and Daniel Vettori respectively. A few sixes towards the end by Lasith Malinga assured them a total of 139 for 10 in 20 overs. Raju Bhatkal was the most succesful bowler with 3/21 of his 3 overs.

What followed, however, was not a Gaylestorm or a storm by Kohli. It was a batting collapse. They got off to a decent start, Dilshan hitting 5 fours and 27 before being bowled by fellow Sri Lankan Lasith Malinga. Gayle was then silenced by Harbhajan Singh on 5. Kohli then departed and there was nothing to RCB’s lineup. Tiwari, Arun Karthik, Kaif, Vettori. All big hitters. All gone. Abu Nechim had the last laugh by taking out Raju Bhatkal, wicket number 10. So Mumbai walk away with the trophy and it was all because RCB, despite chasing 200+ in their previous 2 encounters, they couldn’t chase 139 in their 3rd. That’s good bowling for you. One last remarkable fact is how 2 teams, 2 injury-ridden teams, probably with the least chance of qualifying, made it to the final. Adidos. See you